return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Ch-ch-changes

Leave a comment

I’m currently attempting to do homework in one of my favorite coffee shops in Denver, Wash Perk.  I seriously lived here during finals in the spring quarter.  It’s a cute, homey coffee shop about three blocks west of Washington Park that I discovered last year.  However, Wash Perk has recently renovated, and it just feels different to me.  It took me ten minutes to find my customer loyalty card, and the wireless password is apparently no longer the phone number.

Summer sunset at a Wash Park BBQ

Arguably most of the renovations that Wash Perk has made are for the better.  They expanded the seating area, added more couches, and extended the operating hours.  Still, it’s different, and it’s not how I remembered it.  I feel like a stranger in a place that used to be so familiar to me.  Undoubtedly Wash Perk and I will make many new fun memories together this quarter as I write papers, but right now I feel like I’m in a foreign country.  It’s like I keep forgetting that I was in Atlanta last fall, and I keep being surprised by how my life in Denver is different.  I have to keep reminding myself that change is not a bad thing.  In fact, my life has changed a great deal from exactly a year ago.

One year ago I had just returned from a whirlwind of Christmas and Honduras, and I was definitely overwhelmed by starting graduate school.  I had been a business major in undergrad, and I felt completely out of my element in a political science geared program.  Not to mention the fact that I started school in the middle of the term.  Have you ever started summer camp in the middle of the session?  I have not either, but I imagine that it’s similar to what I went through last January.  My school actually does not let people start in the winter quarter anymore, which, as an alum of the experience, I fully support.

Luckily, my life changed.  Throughout the course of the year my studies progressed, and I made some phenomenal friends.  My friend Meris actually just left for the Peace Corps, and in a good-bye email to a group of us, she said that she had never expected to make the caliber of friends in Denver that she had made.  Well, to be honest, me either.  Exactly one year later, I can truly say that I am happy and completely at home in Denver.

The point of this meandering has been a) to put off doing my paper for ten more minutes and b) to remind myself that change is not always bad.  Change can be a good thing.  Things change, people change, and coffee shops change.  I mean how boring would life be if everything stayed the same?  Now I just have to learn give it a chance.  One cup of chai tea at a time.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

