return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Weekend warriors

Leave a comment

For the first time since August 2010, I actually spent an entire weekend in the Denver city limits.  My friends and I went skiing in Vail on Monday and in Keystone on Friday, and we stuck around Denver for the weekend.  On a side note, Keystone was a lot of fun on Friday.  Seven inches of fresh powder!  I ended up skiing three times last week, so I have definitely improved a lot.

Keystone pow day!

Traffic was non-existent on the way back to Denver on Friday night, which was nice since we got caught in six hours of traffic on the way back from Vail earlier in the week.  On Saturday night, I went with a group of my friends to a concert by Rob Drabkin, a local musician.  We actually met Rob last summer, on the night when we ended up hanging out on the O.A.R. tour bus.  And eating their blueberries.  My summer was somewhat ridiculous.

Anyway, the concert was in honor of Rob’s birthday, and it was really fun.  The two opening acts were awesome, and I especially loved the group Bop Skizzum’s cover of “Love Song” by Taylor Swift.  There was also a nine year old who played guitar.  He and Rob did an awesome cover of “Imagine” by John Lennon together.

This nine year old kid has his act more together than I do

There were also hula hoopers who performed to the music.  Was I surprised?  Not at all.  So Colorado.

Overall it was a nice and relaxing weekend, and I enjoyed being in Denver both days.  I mean I love skiing, but the Mile High is not too shabby either.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

