return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Mile High throwback

1 Comment

My great intentions for apartment decorating have fallen by the wayside over the past few weeks.  The problem is that once you get a space to a certain degree of livability it’s sometimes hard to continue to be motivated to decorate.  Combine that with a crazy work and school schedule and therein lies the current status of my half-decorated apartment.  Example?  For all intensive purposes, I need a desk.  Is it an absolute necessity?  No, and so I still am deskless.

The thing is that I really do have some cool pieces to put in my apartment.  When I was home over winter break not only did I steal things from my mom’s house but my mom and I also went antique shopping in Weston, Missouri.  My brother got dragged along, and he had an awesome time!  Not really.  I don’t think he enjoyed pretending to be a 45 year-old woman as much as I did.  He at least got some beer out of the deal at the Weston Brewery.  The Pub Warmer Ale?  Hands down the best seasonal beer I have ever had.  I think I still have one bottle left!

Anyway, I will eventually get my act together and fully decorate my apartment.  I have recently become obsessed with vintage maps, and so several of these will adorn my walls.  In particular, I have a world map and map of Colorado.  The world map is from 1960, which my mom and I figured out thanks to Wikipedia and the decolonization of Africa, and the Colorado map is from the 1970s.

I also have started a small collection of Denver postcards from the 1930s.  While my family was in West Virginia over Thanksgiving, my mom and I not surprisingly visited an antique store.  I found some neat Colorado postcards but ended up not buying them, which I later regretted.  When I came across more postcards on our recent Weston antique trip, I bought them without hesitation.  I live near a lot of the areas in the postcards, and I think it is fun to see how much Denver has changed!

Someday these will all be on my wall.  February is the goal.  I think my life should be much less crazy then!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “Mile High throwback

  1. Pingback: I’ve been hanging around « Return to the motherland

Leave a Reply

