return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Peace Out ATown

3 Comments

“It takes a heap o’ livin’ in a house t’ make it a home.”

This quote, courtesy of Mr. Edgar Guest, was the answer to a question at the latest trivia night at The Albert in Atlanta and fittingly the sum of my experiences in Atlanta.  I’ll  explain.  To be honest, I was a reluctant Atlantan.  I really love Colorado, and I had an awesome summer hanging out in the mountains.  I entered my time in Atlanta warily.  Maybe it was the 24 hour drive from Denver to Atlanta talking but I was underwhelmed by Atlanta initially.  Other than my hopes of meeting T.I. (I saw him in concert, no big deal), I did not think I was going to have a memorable time.  Oh how naive I was!

T.I. making a guest appearance at the B.O.B. concert.  This happened.

I quickly had to come to terms with the fact that Atlanta is not Denver.  I was in denial for a few weeks.  There are actually a surprising amount of great places to trail run in the Atlanta metro area, which I was happy about.  However, in Atlanta traffic is a huge issue.  Eventually I accepted the situation, found some good urban areas to run at during the week and saved my trail running adventures for weekend traffic.

The city itself is big and diverse.  This, I found, is Atlanta’s biggest attribute, both positive and negative.  Because it is so big, there’s tons of things to do.  Unfortunately, because it is so big, transportation and logistics are always an issue.  My fellow intern friends and I had a hard time figuring out the city at first.  It was the blind leading the blind.  I still remember the first time we went to trivia, and the Atlanta system confused us so much.  Now we are Team Trivia experts.  Also champions after winning first place on Wednesday.

Trivia champs and best friends!

Returning to Mr. Guest, Atlanta has grown on me over the past 15 weeks.  By doing a lot of living with my friends, it became my temporary home.  Actually the Heartfield Manor, where two of my really good friends live, became my temporary home.  I basically lived there.  I had a blanket.  I stored food in Caroline’s fridge for awhile.  We spent lots of time hanging out and watching Grey’s Anatomy, Survivor and America’s Next Top Model.  We were all rooting for Ann and are very happy about her victory, by the way.  We were not happy about Tyra’s directorial debut a few weeks ago.  Don’t quit your day job Tyra.

We heart Ann

We do not heart this

The point is, I learned a very important lesson during my time in Atlanta.  Experiences are absolutely what you make of them, and I was lucky to have some great people by my side as I grudgingly learned to accept Atlanta for what it is.  And you know what?  As soon as I stopped trying to fight Atlanta for what it’s not, I began to enjoy what Atlanta could offer.  In the end, I will miss Atlanta.  A little bit.  But more than Atlanta, I will miss my friends who made Georgia my temporary home.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

3 thoughts on “Peace Out ATown

  1. so glad atlanta became a good experience for you, after all, and that you have friends to take from the experience. i’m also glad that you’ve already found what you love about denver and will be returning to it soon. 🙂

  2. Don’t goooo! Or rather, come with us to London and then relocate to Tejas (Austin is higher rated!)

    😥

Leave a Reply

