return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Gracias

1 Comment

Hello everyone, it’s time for the obligatory Thanksgiving “What I am thankful for” blog post.  I know, it’s incredibly cliche, but just like Halloween is the one day a year that scandalous clothing choices are allowed, Thanksgiving is the one time of year that cliched blog entries are permitted.  At least this is how the world works from my perspective.  Anyway, I definitely have a lot to be thankful for in my life.  While I am of course thankful for Malbec wine and Boo, I am most thankful for my friends and my family.

Boo, we’ve never met, but I love you already

Mis amigos.  I know that I’m not always an easy person to be friends with, since my life seems to take me different places every six months or so.  My friends definitely put up with a lot, and I probably don’t say thank you enough.  Whether it’s Monday night chats (eight years and running) with my high school friend Katie, hiking with my Denver girls in Colorado or hanging out with my newfound Atlanta sidekicks Elizabeth and Caroline, I am definitely a lucky girl.  I am reminded of the quote, “You are, or will become, the average of the five people you associate with the most.”  That would be ideal, because the people in my life are pretty great.

Mi familia. You know that your life has come full circle when you are excited to hang out with your family.  I can’t wait to spend Thanksgiving with my family in Virginia and West Virginia.  My family is kind of incapable of taking normal vacations.  Yellowstone National Park?  We did it in the winter, for the cross country skiing of course.  Macchu Picchu?  I mean clearly the Inca Trail was too touristy, so we opted for the Salkantay Trek.  West Virginia for a post-Thanksgiving trip?  Obviously an awesome idea.  We are planning to visit the New River Gorge area for a few days after Thanksgiving, and my brothers are going to be rock climbing while my mom and I go hiking.  Also, the Thanksgiving menu circulating our family email chain is kind of ridiculous.  Keep in mind, this is for four people:

  • Poultry
  • Mashed potatoes a la Paula
  • Stuffing a la Mom
  • Pumpkin dessert
  • Brussel sprouts, possibly with chestnuts
  • Squash ravioli w/ mushrooms and sage or ricotta gnocchi with various things that happen to be in season
  • Vegetarian gravy
  • A root vegetable dish, probably a salad (fennel + beets + grapefruit or something)
  • A greens dish, probably a salad (arugula + pears + sunchoke or something)

The best part of this is all that I have to do is make the mashed potatoes, arguably the easiest Thanksgiving dish ever.  I will happily be relaxing while everyone else is making food.  I love my family.  I also love that my brothers enjoy cooking, because I enjoy eating.  It’s a beautiful relationship.

On that note, happy Thanksgiving everyone!  I’m so thankful for all of you in my life, truly. I will be thinking of you as my brothers are slaving over my meal.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “Gracias

  1. I’m thankful for you too. Like woah.

Leave a Reply

