return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Team Carrot Cake

6 Comments

I just had the most incredible mandarin orange flavored yogurt!  The fact that I am blogging about yogurt means one of two things: a) my life in Atlanta has sunk to an all-time low or b) this yogurt is ridiculously fantastic.  Let’s go with the latter.  Also I am a huge fan of yogurt, generally speaking.  Once I was vegetarian for a year and I tried to be vegan for a brief period during that time, however I only made it as a vegan for two days.  Why?  Because I love yogurt.  I could give up cheese, eggs, and milk pretty easily.  I don’t know if you have ever had a chance to sample soy yogurt, but it is pretty terrible.  I just couldn’t do it.

Anyway, I basically eat yogurt every day, and over the past year I have been on a greek yogurt kick.  Specifically Fage greek yogurt with honey.  Unfortunately, I think the entire city of Denver shares my obsession with Fage, which makes grocery shopping on Sunday nights a frustrating process.  Every store is always out of Fage!  In Atlanta though, dare I say it, I have discovered yogurt that surpasses Fage.  May I introduce you to Publix yogurt?

Best yogurt ever?  Possibly.

Publix is a grocery store chain in the South, nothing special, similar to a Hy-Vee or Safeway.  The store brand Publix yogurt is out of this world though.  I love the fat free light variety, which each have under 100 calories and cost roughly 44 cents.  The consistency of the yogurt is good, but what really makes this yogurt distinct are the creative flavors.  My favorites include:

  • Carrot Cake
  • Cinnamon Bun
  • Coconut Creme Pie
  • Caramel
  • Wildberry Crumble Cake

Carrot Cake is fabulous, and there is actually a semi-serious Carrot Cake fan club at The Carter Center.  I have never witnessed anyone sample the Carrot Cake yogurt flavor and not instantly become a believer.  I actually brought one of my fellow interns a carton to try one day.  Of course she loved it.

I have a pretty bad track record with weird yogurt flavors.  I’m the idiot that buys the Red Velvet Cake Yoplait or the Watermelon Dannon and then throws away half of the yogurt carton.  My standards are high, and the Publix Carrot Cake yogurt meets them.  I swear it tastes exactly like real thing, down to its subtle cinnamon aftertaste.

Still, even though Publix yogurt has proven itself to me, the mandarin orange flavor has scared me.  It has been sitting in my fridge for a week because I even I have been wary after I bought it on a whim.  I finally resigned and ate it tonight and it might be my new all-time favorite yogurt!  The flavor was genuine, not overpowering and there were even small bits of orange in it.  I didn’t even think mandarin orange flavored yogurt existed, and I’ll be honest, I’ve never eaten mandarin oranges and thought, “Man, this would make an excellent flavor of yogurt!”  Although clearly I should have since the yogurt was great.

I will most definitely be getting my fill of Publix yogurt in my last weeks in Atlanta.  Sadly Publix grocery stores are mainly located in Georgia and Florida, which means I will be returning to greek yogurt back in Denver.   I will always remember my Carrot Cake and Mandarin Orange yogurt days fondly though.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

6 thoughts on “Team Carrot Cake

  1. I’m pretty sure I will be the ultimate judge of this famous Carrot Cake variety Publix yogurt. So far, so bad. Maybe the Carrot Cake can convert me into a believer?
    p.s. this blog is amazing, it sounds exactly like you, and I love it.

  2. Um. You told me you didn’t like the wildberry crumble. What are these lies? Also – you have to try the honey almond. It’s awesome.

  3. I don’t read blogs. However, I miss you so much I am reading your blogs about yogurt. WHY THE HELL HAVENT I SEEN YOU! I like yogurt too. Do we have to have a yogurt party to see one another? Let me know.

    ❤ Navigator

  4. You have eaten mandarin oranges. They are the canned oranges. I can’t remember this happening for sure, but I refuse to believe it’s not true.

    I will rectify this at Thanksgiving.

  5. Pingback: Paula’s Top of the Town « return to the motherland

  6. They discontinued the carrot cake yogurt flavor. I am bummed! That was my favorite, and Publix was the only place in the country where I could find it.

Leave a Reply

