return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Fall into the GA

1 Comment

I would like to preface this post by saying that if you don’t like fall foliage this may not be a very interesting blog entry to read.  If you do like fall foliage we should probably be best friends.  My schedule thankfully allowed me to go for a trail run this afternoon, so I headed out to Vickery Creek, a favorite trail running destination of mine in the Atlanta metro area.  I haven’t been to Vickery Creek since early October, due to the ridiculous traffic in Atlanta and the whole daylight savings factor.   Actually, the last time I tried to run at Vickery Creek in early October it was a huge fail.  I didn’t get to the trailhead until after dusk, but I decided to try and run for at least 20 minutes regardless.  I got about five minutes down the trail when I ran into a man carrying a backpack and playing the harmonica.  It was a highly questionable scenario, and I took it as a sign that it was time to turn around and call it a day.

Vickery Creek in late September

When I went running at Vickery Creek today, I was in for an awesome surprise.  The trees had basically exploded in my absence.  Beautiful reds, yellows, oranges and greens were everywhere.

Vickery Creek this afternoon

Have I mentioned lately that I love fall in Georgia?  Because I do.  I am definitely making up for my lost fall last year, when I missed out on all the good foliage.  Okay, so maybe I was enjoying palm trees and fabulous Honduran weather last November, but I still missed out on this:

Fall foliage.  Trail running.  A perfectly lovely afternoon.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “Fall into the GA

  1. Well I guess I too can admit that Georgia has some redeeming qualities after all. I also had a Fall foliage moment of wonderment in Atlanta the other day and since the traffic hadn’t been awful that day, I was actually able to appreciate it. Let’s hope the next 3 weeks (minus Thanksgiving!) holds more great fall foliage to appreciate and take our minds of, you know, other lame things.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

