return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

I’m so hood

2 Comments

Something is wrong with me.  I always thought that getting older meant that my tastes would become more refined.  After college, I assumed I would magically start to love NPR and become a morning person.  This has not exactly been the case.  In fact, in some ways I feel like I have regressed since college.  Take my musical tastes for example.  In college and in high school I prided myself on having pretty legitimate taste in music, mostly thanks to my older brother.  I probably could have held my own with any Pitchfork Media devotee.  To this day, one of my favorite albums of all time is still by a fairly obscure indie band from New Jersey.  The Wrens “The Meadowlands” – you won’t be disappointed.  But mostly, I have moved on from my Elliott Smith, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah!, and TV on the Radio listening days.  And what fabulous musical genre do I love now?  Top 40 hip-hop.  No lie.

That’s right.  I love Soulja Boy, Lil Wayne, T.I., Kid Cudi, B.O.B., Jay-Z, Outkast, Notorious B.I.G., Kanye West, N.E.R.D., T-Pain, and Usher.  I am currently a huge fan of Mike Posner.  Not “Cooler Than Me,” that got way overplayed, but his other songs.  Like the lyrical genius of “Bow Chicka Wow Wow.”

I used to love listening to Sigur Ros, M83, and The Field, all of which are very chill bands.  These days I spend my time listening to Frat Music online.  It’s intense rap music and remixes, and basically the opposite of the chill music I used to frequent.  Think Lil Jon and LMFAO “Shots.”  My favorite mix is currently by my Sigma Mu Delta brothers at Notre Dame.  Thanks Brotre Dame!

I really have no explanation for the evolution of my musical taste.  I think my love of bad hip-hop probably dates back to when I briefly worked at a slightly shady Sonic in Kansas City and Hot 103 JAMZ was constantly playing in the background.  Even so, it’s perplexing to me how I went from liking crazy, obscure indie bands to top 40 radio.  And you know what?  I love it.  I mean sure Bright Eyes is melancholy and introspective music, but is it fun?  That’s debatable.  So for now, I will happily jam to my top 40 hip-hop.  I don’t claim that it’s quality, but I do claim that it’s fun!  Maybe someday I will grow up.  In the meantime, if you ever want some entertainment, just call me and I can rap the entire song “The Rain” by Tech N9ne for you.  It will make your day!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

2 thoughts on “I’m so hood

  1. I might point out that TV on the Radio bites, hard, and always has. But if you are really a Tech N9ne fan, it’s pretty hard to disagree that you’ve gone downhill!

    “Kiss Me Thru the Phone” used to be on one of Sasha Frere Jones’ lists, but I guess he downgraded. Speaking of downgrading, I think that I am going with zero stars for Taylor Swift, but Crystal Castles are gonna get an upgrade to 2.

Leave a Reply

