return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

23 going on 60

2 Comments

I occasionally share interests with 60 year-old women.  I like making crafts, antiquing, and I think cats are great.  Right now I am apparently living the dream because there’s two cats where I live in Atlanta, I engaged in crafting yesterday, and today I went antique shopping.

For Halloween, I decided to be a crayon at the last minute.  I had seen it done before, and it just involved me finding a solid dress of some sort and a party hat.  Caroline, Liz, and I went to Forever 21 yesterday, and on the sale rack I found a blue dress for $6.  I was committed to making it work, so after buying some fabric paint from Hobby Lobby, I set to work.  I was worried about drying time, and when I got back from the mall, I looked up the Crayola logo online, freehanded the design onto the dress, and started crafting.

In progress

I think it turned out well.  If I had more time, I would have added the border to the entire skirt.  Nonetheless, I am pretty happy with my fabric painting skills.

The finished product

I continued living the dream this afternoon by going to Highland Row Antiques, this great little antique store near The Carter Center.  At Highland Row, there’s a main room upstairs in which the “prize” pieces are displayed, and then a huge basement full of individual dealers, which was without a doubt the best part.

One of the basement rooms

I want these glasses!

I also want this chair.  With the clock.

I did end up buying some things, but unfortunately neither the chair nor the glasses made the cut.  I got a fold-out vintage Rand McNally world map that I have some serious craft plans for and will probably end up cutting.  I do want to frame the Americas section though, because I have already decided that there will be a Latin America wall in my new apartment.

The cutest kid in Honduras?  He will be on the Latin America wall.

I also bought a copy of the “Moonlight on the Colorado” piano book, which is not as random as it sounds.  My mom keeps a wall of framed vintage piano book covers and “Moonlight on the Colorado” happens to be one of them.  I regularly steal antique things from my mom when I am at home (Thanks for the coolest antique globe ever!), but I just wasn’t sure if she would be willing to let that one go.  Of course in addition to the Latin America wall, there are probably going to be several Colorado tributes and mountain pictures throughout the apartment.  I will definitely be framing the “Moonlight on the Colorado” cover, and my mom tells me that she might have a vintage Colorado map somewhere.  That would be ideal.  You may or may not be able to tell, but I really can’t wait to get back to Denver and decorate my apartment.  While we’re on the topic, I am especially excited about my future dining table.

My future table

That is not only my future table but that is also my future apartment.  Aren’t the hardwood floors lovely?  Yep.  23 going on 60.  I embrace it.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

2 thoughts on “23 going on 60

  1. Pingback: A little less wise « Return to the motherland

Leave a Reply

