return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

These shoes rule

3 Comments

One of the reasons that I am a fan of running is because it is portable and easy.  I never have to worry about joining a gym or buying any special equipment.  All you need to run is (arguably) a pair of shoes.  I mean there is the whole barefoot running movement, but since I am not currently a convert, shoes are still an essential for me.  And because I have been running for almost 11 years now, I have been through quite a few pairs of shoes.

Runners are actually quite particular about their shoes.  I personally am extremely loyal to Saucony, but I know many people who swear by Asics, Mizunos, or Brooks.  Running shoes generally need to be replaced every 300-500 miles, and I err more on the 300 mile side because of my running form.  I am a supinator, which means that I roll outward on my foot when I run.  Because of this, I need a flexible, neutral shoe that allows my foot more freedom to move and ideally supinate less.

Most definitely time for a new pair

You can generally find evidence of your running style on the bottom of your shoes.  My shoes above show serious wear on the outside sole and are definitely ready for replacement.  I have been happy with the Saucony Ride 2, and actually my three pairs of running shoes since January have all been this particular model.  Although I do believe in sticking with a shoe once you find one that works for you, I also like to change it up every once in awhile.  I just ordered a new pair of running shoes from Running Wearhouse, and to my delight, they arrived on Monday and I was able to test them out for a night run on that evening.  Quick side note, Running Wearhouse is the most amazing running Web site I have come across.  They have incredible prices and free shipping.

Anyway, I ordered the Saucony Kinvaras in hot pink.  I am a little bit of a paradox because while I love the outdoors and being active, I am randomly such a girl about some things!  Like ordering hot pink running shoes.  I just needed the hot pink ones for some reason.

My beautiful new Kinvaras!

The Kinvaras are definitely a departure from the ordinary for me.  They are a lightweight construct, weighing just 7.5 ounces.  The Kinvaras are different from other minimalist shoes, like the Nike Free, in that they try to enforce a low heel to forefront drop.  Most normal running shoes encourage a heel strike because of their construct, but the Kinvaras try to stimulate a more natural running pattern.  Reviews of the shoe have been very favorable and Runner’s World even awarded it the “Best Debut” in May.

The inaugural run for my Kinvaras was fabulous.  They felt light and cushiony, and I went on a great 3.5 mile uptempo night run.  Since I have trail running shoes for any off-pavement activity, if all continues to go well with my Kinvaras I will keep them in my arsenal for any road running.  I think the biggest problem will be that I am going to be very upset if I run through any mud.  These shoes are fierce!  Tyra would approve.  And also Kelly.  These shoes rule.

Oh how this You Tube video takes me back to living on the DZ wing.  2006 was a good year.  Maybe my next blog entry will be about muffins.  Or borrowing tops.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

3 thoughts on “These shoes rule

  1. So I immediately went to Runner’s Warehouse and started perusing the shoes. Found a lot that I like! I have no idea what kind of runner I am but I saw these are supinator and they are so cute! http://www.runningwarehouse.com/descpageWRS-PFAA3W2.html

    I’m going to find out what I need to see if I can get them or not. 🙂

    Thanks for the recommendation!

    • Love those shoes, you should definitely invest! Glad I could share the knowledge! It was a life changing discovery, believe me.

      Also hope you are loving Word Press! 🙂

  2. I felt your shoes yesterday… And liked them.

Leave a Reply

