return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

To live and let diorama

1 Comment

I think my weekend can be summed up best by two words: “Civil War”.  “Sake Bomb” could also probably sum up at least my Friday but that version of my weekend is much less blog appropriate.  And so on with the Civil War we go!  Or as it is sometimes called down here, “The War of Northern Aggression”.  Anyway, I had two Civil War history-filled days this weekend, try not to be jealous.  On Saturday I went to the Cyclorama, which has nothing to do with bicycles.  I originally thought it was some huge bike shop or bike park.  False.

What is the Cyclorama?  What isn’t the Cyclorama is more like it!  The Cyclorama is the world’s largest painting, accompanied by a diorama and a narration of the Battle of Atlanta.  Also, have I mentioned the part where you sit on carpeted benches and spin around the entire diorama scene?  If you are a fan of The Gilmore Girls, it totally reminded me of the “To Live and Let Diorama” episode.

I probably haven’t learned about the Civil War since at least my junior year of high school, so the Cyclorama experience was a good refresher.  Actually, part of the Battle of Atlanta took place on the land where The Carter Center is located today, which was a cool connection.  Okay, I am slightly reaching at the moment, but it’s good to learn about your country’s history!

The Civil War fun continued on Sunday as well, because I made the excellent decision of going to try a trail run at Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park.  Luckily, I had learned all about the Kennesaw Mountain Battlefield the day before at the Cyclorama.  This battle was part of the Atlanta Campaign, as I know you all are wondering.  Those pesky Northerners.

Kennesaw Mountain Battlefield

The park is about thirty minutes outside of Atlanta, a completely reasonable drive.  The drive was also pretty, and I am a huge fan of the tree lined country roads in northern Georgia.  However, I am not a fan of the false advertising in northern Georgia!  Kennesaw Mountain?  More like Kennesaw Large Hill.

Regardless, as an NPS employee, I was happy to see that the park was packed on a Sunday afternoon.  I started my run on the only trail behind the Visitor’s Center and made my way up to the top of the mountain.  There were probably four separate Cub Scout troops, not to mention many families, dogs, and couples, hiking the trail, but it was so wide that I was able to run around the groups with no problems.  It was also 3:00 in the afternoon, hot, humid, and uphill for the first mile.  I was dying, yes.  I was quite the novelty on the trail though, I only saw one or two other runners the whole day, and people on the trail were super supportive.  I mean I had entire Cub Scout troops encouraging me, which kept me going even as I was secretly dying.  I couldn’t disappoint my six year-old fans!

I ended up only running four miles, which I blame mostly on the humidity.  Colorado has made me a weakling in some areas because I just can’t take the heat like I used to be able to in Missouri.  I ended up doing another two mile run later in Grant Park, but trust me, don’t be impressed.  As far as two-a-days go it was pretty weak sauce.

Another major highlight of the weekend included a trip to the most incredible farmers market ever, the Dekalb Farmers Market.  It’s almost good enough to make me consider relocating to Atlanta.  I got a lot of great produce for extremely reasonable prices.  You know you are out of college when Sunday Funday consists of going to a farmers market with your friends.  And you enjoy it.  While a group of us was at the farmers market, we also sampled some killer red velvet cake, as part of my friend Liz’s Red Velvet Cake Challenge.

Next weekend I sadly do not think I will be continuing my Civil War buff journey.  I will hopefully be eating red velvet cake.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “To live and let diorama

  1. I LOVE farmer’s markets… 🙂

Leave a Reply

