return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Colorado staycation: Day 4

Leave a comment

My life is slightly ridiculous at the moment.  I have been done with school for almost two weeks and I am in paperwork limbo waiting for my summer job to start.  This means that, like a 75 year old retired woman, I have absolutely no obligations or responsibilities in my daily life.  So I have decided to take advantage of all my free time and go on a Colorado staycation.  I mean people spend all of their lives working in order to have free time like I have right now.  Do I feel a little bit worthless?  Yes, but I figure that I have the rest of my life to work so I might as well enjoy my final one to two weeks of total freedom.  Plus I live in Colorado.  People legitimately come on vacations here and I reside here.

Day 1 of the staycation was not actually that eventful.  I spent a leisurely afternoon doing errands, ran at Apex Park, and went on a Target and bubble tea run with my old roommate.

Day 2 of the staycation was much more eventful.  It’s actually a good thing that I took Day 1 easy because Day 2 was jam packed.  My day started out with an early morning hike at Chautauqua Park in Boulder with my friend Melissa.  We hiked to the Royal Arches and spent about three hours in total at the park.  The view from the Flat Irons was pretty stunning, and we could actually see all the way to Denver from up top!

The view at the top

The Royal Arch

After eating lunch back in Denver I then decided that it would be a good idea to go for a run.  I mean clearly a three hour hike was not enough exercise!  I ended up running around Wash Park and I didn’t completely hate it.  Apparently I am safe to run at Wash Park once every three weeks.  I ran there way too much in January and February and now I find it completely boring to run at on a regular basis.  Anyway, later that afternoon I made a caprese salad, which I was very proud of, and then went to a Mediterranean potluck dinner/NBA final watching get together at one of my friend’s apartments.

Caprese salad…I don’t cook, this was a big deal for me

Day 3‘s festivities were rudely interrupted by car windshield replacement.  Still, this was car windshield replacement done staycation style, so it consisted of me calling a mobile windshield repair company and hanging out at my favorite coffee shop all afternoon.  I sipped on an iced non-fat almond latte, watched an episode of The Hills, and finished the book This I Believe.  After my car’s windshield was back in action, I went for a trail run at Mount Falcon and worked out at the Ritchie Center.  I enjoy the Ritchie Center so much more now that all the DU undergrads are home for the summer!  I finished out my day by making a capellini pasta with my leftover caprese salad ingredients and renting a Red Box movie.

Day 4 has gotten off to a fabulous start.  I stopped at The Shoppe on Colfax for breakfast, a store that specializes in cupcakes and cereal, which are quite possibly my two loves in life.  I briefly thought about a cupcake for breakfast, but I then decided on the Four Square cereal mixture, which included Golden Grahams, Chex, Life, and Cinnamon Toast Crunch.  The cupcakes looked incredible though, and I will definitely be returning.

Staycation breakfast

I plan on going to the Denver Art Museum today, going for a trail run, and watching the NBA finals with some friends later tonight.  Stay tuned though, because my Day 5 plans are epic…

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

