return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

The luckiest

1 Comment

Currently I am still working on one last paper for my first year of graduate school.  While I complain about writing this final paper, I must admit that I have a pretty stellar life.  I was casually perusing some Web sites this morning to avoid doing my paper when I found this amazing blog by a 26 year old woman named Bridget.  You see, when Bridget graduated college, she didn’t get to follow her dreams and go to graduate school or find her first real job.  She was diagnosed with breast cancer, and ever since then she has had to come to terms with her battle with cancer and learn to live her life.  Below is an excerpt from her June 4 entry, the five-year anniversary of her diagnosis:

“I task all of you to spend some time today, in my honor, taking stock of your lives. Don’t take stock of your career goals or material possessions. Take a look at your character and at your relationships.  Take a look at the friends around you, because at the end of your lives, your relationships are what endure even after you are gone. Your relationships and your character are what matter and they are all that matter.”

So Bridget, in your honor, I will try to remember to put my relationships with people first.  Thank you for making me see how lucky I am.  It’s so easy to get caught up in keeping up with the Joneses that I think we sometimes all forget that people are infinitely more important than possessions.  I know that I definitely do.  I once heard that your personality is the average of the five people closest to you.  When I look at the caliber of the people in my life, I would love to be considered the average of my amazing friends and family.  I’m going home (yes I consider Missouri home) this weekend, and I can’t wait to see the people that make me who I am.  And that remind me how lucky I am.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “The luckiest

  1. Wow, Paula! Thank you for taking my words to heart, but most of all, thank you for passing this message on! You just made my day!

    -Bridget

Leave a Reply

